## 2024 Hermann Weyl Prize

## Call for nominations

Dear Colleagues,

We invite you to nominate promising early career scientists for the 2024 <u>Hermann Weyl Prize</u> awarded by the Standing Committee of the International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics (<u>ICGTMP</u>).

The purpose of the Hermann Weyl Prize is to recognise outstanding and original contributions to the understanding of physical phenomena through symmetries.

The Prize, which is awarded every two years, consists of a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, prize money, and an allowance towards attendance at the ICGTMP in Cotonou (Benin), July 15-19, 2024, where the Prize will be awarded.

To be eligible for the Hermann Weyl Prize, the nominees should either be within 5 years of having received their doctoral degree or be at most 35 years old by the nomination deadline.

In the event of maternity, the upper limit is normally extended by 18 months for each child. For other parental, adoption, compassionate or extended sick leave the upper limit is extended to match the documented time spent on leave. The maximal extension is up to the age of 38 years.

Candidates should be nominated by or through the members of the <a href="Standing Committee">Standing Committee</a> of the ICGTMP.

## Each nomination should include:

- 1. Either a copy of a valid identification document that indicates the age of the nominee or a copy of the PhD diploma according to the eligibility criterion used. The appropriate documents if an extension of the age limit is also eligible under one of the cases listed in Article 3B.
- 2. The relevant work of the nominee (open access links are acceptable) together with a summary of up to 4 pages of their work.

- 3. A brief CV of the nominee.
- 4. A letter from the nominating scientist introducing the nominee and appraising their work.
- 5. At least two letters of support for the nomination. These letters cannot be from the members of the Selection Committee.

## The deadline for the nomination of candidates is DECEMBER 31, 2023.

The members of the 2024 Weyl Prize Selection Committee are:

A. Taormina (Durham Univ., UK; Chair), F. Bagarello (Palermo Univ., Italia), G. Brassard (Montreal Univ., Canada), N. Nekrasov (Stony Brook Univ, USA) and R. Zhang (Sidney Univ., Australia).

Please share this information with your colleagues.

Best regards

Mariano A del Olmo Valladolid University, Spain Chair Standing Committee of the ICGTMP icgtmp.chair@gmail.com

Anne Taormina
Durham University, UK;
Chair Weyl Prize Selection Committee
anne.taormina@durham.ac.uk

Norbert Hounkonnou
Abomey-Calavi University, Benin
Chair of the Group33/35 Local Organizing Committee
norbert.hounkonnou@cipma.uac.bj, hounkonnou@yahoo.fr