2024 Weyl-Wigner Award

Call for nominations

Dear Colleagues,

We invite you to nominate distinguished scientists for the 2024 <u>Weyl-</u> <u>Wigner Award</u> conferred by the Standing Committee of the International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics (<u>ICGTMP</u>).

The purpose of the Award shall be to recognise outstanding contributions to the understanding of physics through group theory.

The Weyl-Wigner Award was created with the demand to recognise outstanding contributions to the understanding of physics through group theory, and continuing the tradition of the Wigner Medal and keeping its high standards of quality and excellence.

Contributions admitted by the Award may include the development and application of mathematical methods, applications of group theoretical methods in chemistry and other sciences, experimental predictions or formulations of general laws of nature using methods of group theory or representation theory, and other related developments. Group theory shall be construed in its widest sense, to include related mathematical structures.

The first Weyl-Wigner Award was awarded in Strasbourg in July 2022 during the ICGTMP <u>Group34</u> Colloquium.

Nominations should include name and affiliation of the nominee, together with at least a summary of their achievements that would be considered for the Weyl-Wigner Award.

More detailed nomination materials, such as letters of recommendation, may be requested later if needed.

The 2024 Weyl-Wigner Award will be awarded coinciding with the XXXV ICGTMP (<u>Group33/35</u>), to be held in Cotonou, Benin, 15-19 July 2024.

Nominations may be submitted by e-mail to

Nicolai Reshetikhin Chair of the 2024 Weyl-Wigner Award Selection Committee reshetik@math.berkeley.edu

The deadline for the nomination of candidates is JANUARY 15, 2024.

The members of the 2024 Weyl -Wigner Award Selection Committee are:

N. Reshetikhin (Tsinghua University – Beijing, China; Chair), P. Etingof (MIT, Cambridge, USA), R. Kerner (Sorbonne Univ., Paris, France), S. Serfaty (New York Univ., USA) and E. Zelmanov (Univ. of California – San Diego, USA).

Please share this information with your colleagues.

Best regards

Mariano A del Olmo Valladolid University, Spain Chair Standing Committee of the ICGTMP icgtmp.chair@gmail.com

Nicolai Reshetikhin Tsinghua University– Beijing, China Chair of the 2024 WW Award Selection Committee reshetik@math.berkeley.edu