XVII International Conference on Symmetry Methods in Physics 
Yerevan (Armenia) July 09-15, 2017.

6th International Workshop on New Challenges in Quantum Mechanics: Integrability and Supersymmetry
 In honour of Véronique Hussin’s 60th birthday 
Valladolid (Spain) June 26-30, 2017.

X International Symposium “Quantum Theory and Symmetries”  (QTS10)
XII International Workshop “Lie Theory and Its Applications in Physics”
Varna (Bulgaria) June 19-25, 2017

“Mathematics and Physics meet in La Habana”
Havana, Cuba, from February 26th to March 3rd 2017.

 Meeting in memory and honour of Twareque Ali

The 2016 Wigner Medal has been awarded to Bertram Kostant of  the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA) for his fundamental contributions to representation theory that led to new branches of mathematics and physics.

The Chair of the Selection Committee, Professor Michio Jimbo of Rikkyo University, Tokyo, said: “the lifelong achievements of Bertram Kostant have had profound impact in pure mathematics. At the same time, his work miraculously has been finding its way to physics. Kostant’s winning the award perfectly suits the spirit of Wigner who coined the famous phrase the `unreasonable effectiveness of mathematics in the physical sciences’.”   more…

The 2016 Hermann Weyl Prize has been awarded to Vasily Pestun of Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (France) for his groundbreaking results in the study of supersymmetric gauge theories, such as his ingenious computation of partition functions that led to the discovery of rich connections between four-dimensional and two-dimensional quantum field theories.
The Chair of the Selection Committee, Professor Edward Frenkel of University of California, Berkeley, said: “Vasily Pestun’s original contributions opened new opportunities for fruitful interaction between mathematics and quantum physics. It is quite fitting that his work is honored by the prize named after Hermann Weyl, a pioneer in both of these fields who used to say that in his research he always tried to unite the true and the beautiful.”  more…

 Group 31: Second Bulletin
The 31st International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics (Group31) will take place in Rio de Janeiro from June 19 till June 25, 2016.
The event is hosted by the Brazilian Centre for Physical Research (CBPF).
Plenary talks will be located at Foundation Casa Rui Barbosa, in Botafogo.
The Wigner Medal and the Weyl Prize Award Ceremony will take place in the new Rio de
Janeiro’s landmark, the Museum of Tomorrow.
Further information can now be found at the newly opened webpage of the event at the site
Please note that the webpage is in constant progress and further information and forms for on-line registration will soon be available.
Looking forward seeing you in Rio de Janeiro at Group31.
With our warmest regards,
The Group31 Organizing Committee