The Weyl Prize

The purpose of the Weyl Prize is to provide recognition for young scientists who have performed original work of significant scientific quality in the area of understanding physics through symmetries.

Their contributions shall be in one or more of the following fields: group theory; development of new mathematical tools for the description of physical phenomena; interpretation of experimental results; formulation of general laws based on symmetries.

To be eligible for the Weyl Prize, the candidate should be thirty-five years of age or younger, or be within five years of having received the doctoral degree, at the time of the deadline of the application.

In the event of maternity, the upper limit is normally extended by 18 months for each child. For other parental, adoption, compassionate or extended sick leave the upper limit is extended to match the documented time spent on leave. The maximal extension is up to the age of 38 years.

The Hermann Weyl prize consists of a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, prize money and an allowance towards attendance at the bi-annual International Group Theory Colloquium at which the award is presented.

Candidates are nominated by or through members of the Standing Committee.
Nominations should include:
1. A copy either of a valid identification document that indicates the age of the nominee or of the PhD diploma according to the eligibility criterion used by the candidate (Article 3B).
The appropriate documents if an extension of the age limit is also eligible under one of the cases listed in Article 3B.
2. A copy of the PhD thesis, publications and reports of the nominee together with a summary up to 4 pages of her/his work.
3. A brief curriculum vitae of the nominee.
4. A letter from the nominating scientist introducing the nominee and explaining the nomination.
5. At least two letters seconding the nomination. These letters can not be from members of the Selection Committee.

The Weyl Prize Selection Committee (5 members) is elected by the Standing Committee and decides on the recipient of the prize.


Weyl Prize awardees:

2024: Nicole Yunger Halpern

2020/22: Eric Panzer

2018: Simon Caron-Huot and David Simmons-Duffin

2016: Vasily Pestun

2014: Yuji Tachikawa

2012: Razvan Gurau

2010: Giulio Chiribella

2008: Shahin Sheikh-Jabbari

2006: Bojko Bakalov

2004: Nikita Nekrasov

2002: Edward Frenkel


Weyl Prize Selection Committees:

2024: A. Taormina (Chair, Durham U), F. Bagarello (Palermo U), G. Brassard (Montreal U), N. Nekrasov (Stony Brook U), R. Zhang (Sidney U).

2020: M.A. Lledó (Chair,Valencia U), F. Bagarello (Palermo U), G. Brassard (Montreal U), Shahin Sheikh-Jabbari (IPM, Tehran), A. Taormina (Durham U).

2018: L. Vinet (Chair, Montreal U), M.A. Lledó (Valencia U), Shahin Sheikh-Jabbari (IPM, Tehran),  N. Stoilova (INRNE, Bulgarian Acad. Sc., Sofia), F. Toppan (CBPF, Rio Janeiro).

2016: E. Frenkel (Chair, UC Berkeley), G. Kutyniok (TU Berlin), N. Stoilova (INRNE, Bulgarian Acad. Sc., Sofia), F. Toppan (CBPF, Rio Janeiro), L. Vinet, (Montreal  U).

2014: E. Frenkel (Chair, UC Berkeley), G. Kutyniok (TU Berlin), J. Van der Jeugt (Ghent U), K. Wendland (Freiburg U), P. Winternitz, (Montreal  U).

2012: E. Corrigan (Chair, Durham. U), P. Kulish (Russian Ac. Sc., St. Petersburg), J. Van Der Jeugt (Ghent U),  K. Wendland (Freiburg. U),  P. Winternitz (Montreal U.)

2010: M.-A del Olmo (Chair, Valladolid U), S.T. Ali (Concordia U, Montreal), E. Corrigan (Durham U), P. Kulish (Russian Ac. Sc., St. Petersburg), R. Mosseri (CNRS, U. P. & M. Curie, Paris).

2008: M.-A del Olmo (Chair, Valladolid U), S.T. Ali (Concordia U, Montreal),  A. Fredenhagen (Hamburg U and Desy), R. Mosseri (CNRS, U. P. & M. Curie, Paris), S. Ranjbar-Daemi (ICTP, Trieste).

2006: J.-P. Gazeau (Chair, U. Diderot Paris 7), L. Faddeev (Steklov Math. Inst., Saint Petersburg), K. Fredenhagen (Hamburg U and Desy), A. Kostelecky (Indiana U, Bloomington), S. Randjbar-Daemi (ICTP, Trieste).

2004: Y. Todorov (Chair, A. Sciences, Sofia), H.-D Doebner (Clausthal U), L. Faddeev (Steklov Math. Inst., St. Petersburg), J.-P. Gazeau (U. Diderot Paris 7), V. Kac (MIT).

2002: Y. Todorov (Chair, Ac. Sc., Sofia), H.-D Doebner (Clausthal U), V. Kac (MIT), R. Kerner (U. P.&M. Curie, Paris), J. Wess (Munich U).