The Weyl-Wigner Award

The collaboration between The Group Theory and Fundamental Physics Foundation and the Standing Committee of the International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics has ended after forty years of fruitful cooperation (1978-2018).

As a result, the Wigner Medal will no longer be awarded within the framework of the Colloquium. Therefore, the Standing Committee has organised a new award called Weyl-Wigner Award to fill the gap left by the Wigner Medal.

The first Weyl-Wigner Award will be awarded in Strasbourg in July 2022 coinciding with Group34.

It is the aim of the Standing Committee that this new Weyl-Wigner Award keeps the high standards of quality and excellence of the Wigner Medal.

The purpose of the Weyl-Wigner Award shall be to recognize outstanding contributions to the understanding of physics through group theory, continuing the tradition of The Wigner Medal.

Contributions recognized by the Award may include the development and application of mathematical methods, applications of group theoretical methods in chemistry and other sciences, experimental predictions or formulations of general laws of nature using methods of group theory or representation theory, and other related developments. Group theory shall be construed in its widest sense, to include related mathematical structures.

Weyl-Wigner Award recipients:

2022: Nikolai Reshetikhin


Weyl-Wigner Award Selection Committees:

2022: E. Zelmanov (Chair, U. California – San Diego), M. Cheng (U. Amsterdam), A. Klimov (U. Guadalajara), S. Serfaty (New York U.), R. Werner (Leibniz U. Hannover).